Meet The 2014 PEN/Heim Translation Fund Recipients

The PEN/Heim Translation Fund has disclosed the name of 18 projects selected among a total of 120 applicants to receive financial incentives that bring important works of literature from around the world to an English-speaking audience.

The Fund was created in 2003 anonymously upon a donation of $700,000 USD. In 2012, upon the passing of Michael Henry Heim, a translator and professor of Slavic Languages and Literature, his widow authorized the PEN American Center to disclose the fact that he had donated the money to promote the publication of world literature in English. The Fund also acknowledges the ongoing support of, which contributed $25,000 this year.

Here is a list of the lucky recipients of the PEN/Heim Translation Fund:

  • Eric M. B. Becker's "Selected Stories," written by Mia Couto (Mozambique)
  • Zachary Ludington's "Pixel Flesh," written by Agustín Fernández Mallo (Spain)
  • Paul Hoover's "Nightmare Running on a Meadow of Absolute Light," written by María Baranda (Mexico)
  • J. Bret Maney's "Manhattan Tropics," written by Guillermo Cotto-Thorner (Puerto Rico)
  • Andrea G. Labinger's "Gesell Dome," written by Guillermo Saccomanno (Argentina)
  • Yvette Siegert's "Diana's Tree," written by Alejandra Pizarnik (Argentina)
  • Kurt Beals' "The Country Road," written by Regina Ullmann (Switzerland, originally written in German)
  • Edna McCown's "Shanghai, Far from Where," written by Ursula Krechel (Germany)
  • Sergey Levchin's "Commentaires," written by Chris Marker (France)
  • Miranda Richmond Mouillot's "The Kites," written by Romain Gary (French)
  • David Burnett's "The American Stories," written by Johannes Urzidil (former Czechoslovakia, now Czech Republic)
  • Benjamin Paloff's "The Game for Real," written by Richard Weiner (former Czechoslovakia, now Czech Republic)
  • Thom Satterlee's "New and Selected Poetry of Per Aage Brandt" (Denmark)
  • Philip Metres and Dimitri Psurtsev's "I Burned at the Feast," written by Arseny Tarkovsky (Ukraine)
  • Janet Hong's "The Impossible Fairytale," written by Han Yujoo (South Korea)
  • Sayuri Okamoto's "Dear Monster: the Naked Poetry of Gozo Yoshimasu" (Japan)
  • Sholeh Wolpé's "The Conference of Birds," written by Farid ud-Din Attar (Iran)